What does a.m. m. p.m. stand for?

ante meridiem, which means “before noon post meridiem or "after midday"

---

The abbreviations a.m. and p.m. stand for the Latin ante meridiem and post meridiem, meaning before and after midday. These abbreviations should be used only with numerals ( e.g. 9:00 a.m. or 9 a.m. , not nine a.m. ).