Why are fire fire trucks red?

The most widely-accepted reason that fire engines are painted red dates back to the 1800s a time when there was a LOT of competition between the fire brigades of neighboring cities and towns. Because red was the most expensive color, that's what color most crews chose to paint the pump to stand out.

---

Fire trucks are red to make them stand out.