What is l. tryptophan?

L-tryptophan is an essential amino acid that helps the body make proteins and certain brain-signaling chemicals. It is naturally found in red meat, poultry, eggs, and dairy. Your body changes L-tryptophan into a brain chemical called serotonin. Serotonin helps control your mood and sleep