Can you substitute butter for oil in a recipe?

Butter and oil are two sources of fat, with butter also containing a small amount of milk protein. Butter tends to burn faster than most oils, so its suitability as a replacement for oil in any specific recipe depends on the heat it would be exposed to, as well as other factors.