What is diomataceous earth?

Commercially available diatomaceous earth is said to contain 80–90% silica, several other trace minerals, and small amounts of iron oxide (rust). Diatomaceous earth is a type of sand that consists of fossilized algae. It's rich in silica, a substance that has many industrial uses