What's the difference between an analogy and a metaphor?

Metaphor is a type of analogy, but where analogy is identifying two things as similar, a metaphor claims a comparison where there may not be one. It is then up to the listener to create meaning out of this comparison. For example “ that sound goes through me like nails down a blackboard”.