How much do people talk?

Between 3 hours, 20 minutes and 3 hours, 50 minutes. One study said that on average, most people spend 70% to 80% of their waking time in different types of communication. Of that time, roughly 30-35% was spent actually speaking. The average waking time of an American is 16½ hours.