Is tv m. a. rated higher than r.?

Programming rated TV-MA in the United States by the TV Parental Guidelines signifies content for mature audiences. It corresponds to the MPA's R rating. Programs with this rating are generally not suitable for children or individuals under 17 (some sources may say 18).