What does in treated mean?

When referring to "in treated" were referring to the chemicals used to preserve wood ; chromium, copper and arsenic. Sence the 1940s, wood has been pressure treated with chromate arsenicals to protect wood from rotting due to insect and microbial agent attack and wood-boring marine invertebrates.