Does the circus still exist?

While circuses are less of a phenomenon than it once was, they do still exist. Contemporary companies such as Circus Smirkus and Cirque du Soleil are leading the evolution into the 21 century even as Circus Vargas, the Big Apple Circus, and others maintain the older traditions.