What is the highest scoring major league baseball game in history?

The highest combined score in a game is 49 runs on August 25, 1922, when the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 26–23. The record for most runs scored by a team in a single inning is 18, set by the Chicago White Stockings against the Detroit Wolverines on September 6, 1883.