Why do cats bite sometimes?

Cats usually bite to tell you to stop whatever you're doing. They get overstimulated easily & if you don't pick up on the signals that they want to stop, they bite as a last resort. Watch for tail lashing, ears going flat, and stiff posture and quit doing whatever you're doing then before they bite.