How do you stop bananas from turning brown?

6 easy hacks to keep bananas from ripening too fast: 1. Hang them, away from other produce. 2. Wrap the stems in plastic wrap. ... 3. Once they ripen, pop them in the fridge. 4. If the bananas are peeled, add citrus. 5. Give the bananas a vinegar bath. 6. For longer periods of time, freeze.