How does bamboo grow?

Bamboo produces new canes (culms) in the Spring. These shoots emerge out of the ground and grow in height and diameter for around 60 days. During this 60 day period, it will produce limbs and leaves. After the 60 day period of growth, the bamboo cane never grows in height or diameter again.