What happens when lava hits water?

The lava instantly turns the water to steam. If there is sufficient amount of water it wil cool the molten lava and turn It into a very sharp and strangely lite rock, called Lava rock.5 The only rock on earth that can float on water, due to the porous air filled cavities within the rock.