Can you freeze a whole onion?

According to HGTV, to safely freeze a whole onion, it must be blanched between 3 and 5 minutes before freezing. While thawed onions will retain their flavor, they will lose their crunch, taking on a more mushy texture. Expect to use defrosted onions for hot dishes, such as soups and stews.