How do you unplug a toilet?

The obvious solutions are a good plunger or a plumbers snake. Other solutions include adding a gallon of hot (not boiling) tap water with vinegar and baking soda, or Dawn dish soap, and let sit for a half hour. You may have to repeat to fully clear the drain.