Is benjamin button a true story?

Benjamin Button is loosely based upon a short story written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, who – in a letter to his editor, Harold Ober – sullenly acknowledged that he would be remembered for his flapper stories, like The Great Gatsby, and not his other works.