How long is a dog's rabies shots good for?

After your pet is vaccinated the first time, it must get a booster shot within 1 year of the date they were vaccinated. After that, your pet must be vaccinated for rabies every 1 to 3 years depending on the type of vaccine your veterinarian uses.