How do you craft a chest plate?

To craft an iron chestplate in Minecraft, go to the crafting menu and place 8 iron ingots in the 3x3 crafting grid. It is important that they are placed with 2 iron ingots in the first row (the middle box should be left empty), 3 iron ingots in the second row, and 3 iron ingots in the third row.