How do you get an electron in minecraft?

To make a lectern in Minecraft, open the crafting area made up of the 3x3 grid. Fill the entirety of the 1st row with 3 wooden slabs, then place a bookshelf in the center of the second row, and finally one more wooden slab directly underneath it.