Are perogies from poland?

Perogies remain a traditional Polish staple. However, a number of origin stories exist and much of the history of this dish remains a mystery. One of the most famous origin stories explains that they arrived on Polish shores around the 13th century. The dish reportedly has roots from the Far East.