Do turtles drink water?

Apart form a swimming area, aquatic turtles need an additional area for their drinking water. Be sure to use natural spring water for both your pet turtle's swimming area and drinking water. Tap water contains chlorine and fluorine, which can throw off the water's pH balance and harm the turtle.