What is a tamale?

What is a tamale? Tamales are a traditional Mexican dish made with a corn-based dough mixture that is filled with various meats or beans and cheese. Tamales are wrapped and cooked in corn husks or banana leaves, but they are removed from the husks before eating.

---

a Mexican dish made of minced and seasoned meat packed in cornmeal dough, wrapped in corn husks, and steamed.