What was the original name for a chainsaw?

The original name for a chainsaw was an osteotome. It was designed by German orthopaedist Bernhard Heine in 1830. Osteotome originates from the Greek words osteo, which translates to bone, and tome, which translates to cut; literally, a bone-cutter.