What is a. one stand for?

A 1 stands for “finest quality”. It was a category used by Lloyds of London to classify the worthiness of ships when they considered insuring them. A ship categorized as A 1 was the best. The A meant it had an excellent hull and the 1 meant it had the finest equipment.