Why do fireflies glow?

Fireflies produce a chemical reaction inside their bodies that allows them to light up. This type of light production is called bioluminescence. When oxygen combines with calcium, adenosine triphosphate (ATP) and the chemical luciferin in the presence of luciferas, a light is produced