Why are cactuses prickly?

So You Don't Touch Them. Duhhh! Just Kidding. The spines help cacti to thrive in desert environments by providing multiple functions. They protect the plant from predators, provide shade, help regulate temperature, reduce water loss and even help the plant to spread and reproduce