How do you tell if an onion is bad?

Spoiled onions may develop dark spots, which eventually begin to grow mold. You'll also want to avoid onions that have started sprouting, as this indicates they're beginning to go bad. You can feel your onions to check how fresh they are. Onions with soft or mushy spots are starting to go bad.