How do you ride a four wheeler?

I've been on a lot of 4 wheeler's, the first a '72 Ford Gran Torino I inherited from my grandmother. I've had 8 or 9 other vehicles with four wheels since then. All of them required you to sit in the drivers seat, steering with a steering wheel, and controlling speed with an accelerator and brakes.