How long is the iditarod race?

The Iditarod Trail is roughly 1,000 miles long and there are two routes - the "Northern Route" is used in even numbered years, and the "Southern Route" is used in odd numbered years. The two routes are the same until the checkpoint of Ophir, roughly 450 miles into the race.