How long does it take for chlorine to leave water?

Depending on its levels of content, the evaporation time for chlorine from tap water can be estimated. 2 ppm of Chlorine will take up to 4.5 days or around 110 hours to evaporate from 10 gallons of standing water. Ultraviolet light, circulation, and aeration will speed up the process dramatically.