What does a. d. mean in years?

AD stands for the Latin phrase anno domini, which means in the year of our Lord. BC and AD separate the old from the new. BC was before Christ and AD signifies the date of the birth of Christ. Scholars later discovered that Jesus was born around 6-4 BC.