Why do tornadoes spin?

Inside thunderclouds, warm, humid air rises, while cool air falls along with rain or hail. These conditions can cause spinning air currents inside the cloud. Although the spinning currents start out horizontal, they can turn vertical and drop down from the cloud becoming a tornado.