Why did planters get rid of mr. peanut?

Killing off the iconic 104-year-old Mr. Peanut has to do with how people mourn the deaths of fictional characters, During the third quarter of the Super Bowl, Planters plans to “broadcast Mr. Peanut’s funeral, so the world can mourn the loss of the beloved legume together.”