Is cane sugar and granulated sugar the same thing?

Cane sugar and granulated sugar are similar and can be substituted for one another in equal parts. Granulated sugar is white because it has been refined and stripped of all colour. Cane sugar is usually darker because it is in it’s natural unrefined state.