What is a gateau cake?

A cake is a sweet food made with a mixture of flour, eggs, sugar, and butter or oil whereas a gateau is a light sponge cake with a rich icing or filling. Basically, gateaux are more elaborate than cakes and contain several rich layers. This is the main difference between cake gateau.