Why do people wear saint christopher medals?

In addition to being the patron saint of travelers, Saint Christopher is believed to protect people from epilepsy, lightning, storms, pestilence, and floods. Many soldiers also pay tribute to Saint Christopher by wearing his medal or carrying a prayer card with them.