What's the difference between core sleep and deep sleep?

Core sleep is the equivalent of light sleep and takes place in the first few hours of your sleep. It is the most essential sleep stage. Deep sleep is exactly what it sounds like. It is the phase of the sleep cycle where it is harder to wake someone up.