How do octopuses make ink?

The ink sac consists of a bag made of muscles just below the squid's gut. The ink is made of a natural pigment called melanin, which is the same pigment that creates darker skin tones and hair colors. Ink is ejected from the ink sac and is mixed with mucous before being released into the water