Why is there a shortage of romaine lettuce?

Lettuce (like a lot of other crops) are picked by hand and transported quickly to market, as it is highly perishable. The combination of a shortage of pickers (people willing to pick crops by hand) and truckers has limited the availability of many products, lettuce among them.