What caused the halifax explosion?

The Halifax Explosion happened when a French Ship crashed into a Norwegian ship. It happened on December 6, 1917. The French ship was carrying very explosive cargo and the explosion was the biggest ever recorded.

---

The cause of the explosion was the collision of a Belgian ship, the Imo, carrying relief supplies to Belgium, and a French ship, the Mont Blanc, carrying 2600 tons of high explosives bound for France.