Is the word they plural?

Either plural or singular. As of 2019, most big style guides—including the Associated Press, the Chicago Manual of Style, the MLA style manual, and the APA style manual—accept usage of the singular they. However, when it is the subject of a sentence, it should always take a plural verb.