Are there still grasshoppers in las vegas nevada?

Grasshoppers, and insects more generally, are attracted to light, particularly ultraviolet light, according to Jeff Knight, state entomologist for the Nevada Department of Agriculture. This is why Las Vegas, the brightest place on earth, is so enticing to hoards of grasshoppers.