How many koalas are left in the wild?

According to the Australian Koala Foundation, there are presently less than 100,000 koala bears in the wild, with some estimates suggesting there may be as few as 43,000 in all. At least 6,400 of these animals were killed between 2019 and 2020 due to forest fires.