What is a d. b. a.?

One common use of the acronym D.B.A. is for the phrase "Doing Business As" which often precedes a fictitious business name. For example, "John Smith d.b.a. Smith Automotive Co." or "Tom's Pub, LLC d.b.a. Tom's Pub".