When did carving pumpkins start?

It wasn't until Irish immigrants brought the custom of carving jack-o'-lanterns to North America that the more commonly available (and easier to carve) pumpkin came to be used for that purpose, and not until the mid-to-late 19th century that pumpkin carving was an established Halloween tradition.