How are oysters born?

A baby oyster is hatched from an egg laid by the mother oyster. When first hatched, the baby oyster is about the size of a pinpoint and has no shell. Its shell begins to form when it is a day old. The baby oyster spends the first two weeks of its life swimming about freely.