What's the difference between a second cousin and a first cousin once removed?

The phrase "once removed" indicates that the individual is in another generation separated from you. e.g. if you have a first cousin who has a child, that child to you is a "first cousin once removed", because they are one generation different from you. Your kid and their kid are "second cousins".