Why is hot dog called hot dog?

Hot dogs started out being called dachshund sausages in the mid-1800s. They were long and thin like the dog breed. Over time, the phrase may have been bastardized into hot dog.

---

Charles Feltman opened the first hot dog stand on Coney Island in 1871 selling "little dachshund" sausages. Hot dogs soon became a favorite ballpark treat; newspaper cartoonist Tad Dorgan coined the term "hot dog" in one of his cartoons showing a vendor selling hot dogs at a New York baseball game.